Blog from Saravanan Arumugam

Let us talk about Technologies

The given key was not present in the dictionary


I was getting the following exception in the WCF proxy initialization statement. This happened in my Silverlight client application.

Exception:

The given key was not present in the dictionary

Later I realized that I created app.config file using SvcUtil.exe.

Silverlight uses ServiceReference.ClientConfig in places of app.cofig/web.config.

 

Solution:

When I copied the app.config content into ServiceReference.ClientConfig, I got rid of the issue.

 

Note: Looks like the error “The given key was not present in the dictionary” will be thrown to say that no endpoint is specified.

Reference: Getting tired of "The given key was not present in the dictionary"

One response to “The given key was not present in the dictionary

  1. Proactiv April 21, 2011 at 5:34 am

    I really liked the post. I am running Arch Linux with the Chrome nightly builds and your site’s images is sorta broken for me.

Leave a Reply

