Blog from Saravanan Arumugam

Let us talk about Technologies

The specified named connection is either not found in the configuration


I created a entity data model in one project and used it by referencing in a different project. .Net framework didn’t let me do this just by adding a project reference.

Exception

I got the following exception.

The specified named connection is either not found in the configuration, not intended to be used with the EntityClient provider, or not valid

Solution

When I searched for a solution to this issue, I got a strange answer as the solution. Even though the project containing the entity model contains the named connection string in its app.config, it was required to copy it to the configuration file of the project referencing the entity. I had to manually copy the connection string from the app.config to the configuration of the web application where I used the entity.

Leave a Reply

